Louis CK on Boredom

“I’m bored’ is a useless thing to say. I mean, you live in a great, big, vast world that you’ve seen none percent of. Even the inside of your own mind is endless; it goes on forever, inwardly, do you understand? The fact that you’re alive is amazing, so you don’t get to say ‘I’m bored.”

― Louis CK

Here is an incredible piece of wisdom from, a seemingly unlikely source. This quote from the FX show LOUIE, “Country Drive” (first aired in 2011), the brainchild of comedian/actor/writer/slash/man about town Louis CK. He may not be your first idea of a source of wisdom if you have just heard clips of his stand-up. However, if you’ve paid attention and heard him speak candidly, which is much of what his newer stand-up is, you will realize that he is speaking very bluntly about what he has learned the hard way through his entire life.

Louis CKI think I really like this quote because I’ve heard the clip, which you can view on HULU if you’d like, and in it he is talking to a child. After seeing this, I realized that I spent a lot of my summers bored, even though I really shouldn’t have.

Lesson: This lesson is one I want to try to teach early. It’s simply that you can always be doing something. If you choose to sit down and do nothing, then you aren’t bored… you’re being boring.

I try to keep doing ‘things’ in order to excuse myself from boredom. I see that even though I may not be getting anything accomplished, I am either entertaining myself, or reading or relaxing at the very least. Don’t get me wrong, I still “get bored” but, I’m trying.

3 thoughts on “Louis CK on Boredom

  1. Pingback: Bored? Your brain could become the next big study | Bazaar Daily News

  2. Pingback: 7 Tips to Fight Boredom - Breathe & Smile

  3. Pingback: Louis CK on Social Media | Sam Kimball – The New Normal

What do you think?

