Ze Frank’s “An Invocation for Beginnings”

Post is rated PG for appropriately strong language which I think you will enjoy.

Let me think about the people I love and care about the most. And how when they fail, or disappoint me I still love them, I still give them chances and I still see the best in them. Let me extend that generosity to myself.


I have watched this video maybe a dozen times since last Spring (2012) when Ze Frank originally recorded (or at least posted) to kick of his web series, “a show” and it has been a sort of lighthearted, empowering kick in the butt to get going and forgive yourself for what happens. When I originally sat down to start this project, I had watched it again and wrote down half a dozen quotes from this one video alone. Since I wasn’t sure what this would become, (and still am not) I had not thought to post the video and discuss them all.

The video is was originally posted on Ze Franks website here, and if you have the time I would suggest sitting through the series and maybe even participating in some of the missions. Posters are also available with the full dialogue of this video, they’re worth looking into.

Image representing Ze Frank as depicted in Cru...Lesson: Please take the time to watch the video and pull the lesson from it yourself. It is apparent throughout every statement Ze Frank says, no matter how irreverent it may be.

My take on the lesson is three-fold:

  1. Get started. Even if you’re scared, especially if you’re scared. FILDI stands for “Fuck it, let’s do it” by the way. It will help drive this message home even more once you know that.

    I’m scared that my abilities are gone. I’m scared that I’m gonna fuck this up. Of you.

  2. Delivering something is better than nothing. It is a step forward, a piece of you; your voice. It will not be perfection, and it will be criticized; that should stop you from finishing.

    Perfectionism may look good in his shiny shoes, but he’s a little bit of an asshole and no one invites him to their pool parties… And when I eat my critique, let me separate out the good advice from the bitter herbs.

  3. Be proud of and fully vested in what you are doing, when you are doing it.

    Let me not think of my work as a stepping stone to something else. And if it is, let me become fascinated with the shape of the stone.

One last quote. It is how he ends the video and is worth repeating.

Life isn’t just a sequence of waiting for things to be done.

One thought on “Ze Frank’s “An Invocation for Beginnings”

  1. Pingback: kjrose's thoughts

What do you think?

