First Post, better make it a doozy!

I hope you found this page looking for a bit of advise to give your daughter or son, or even for a little bit of a reminder for yourself. However you found it, you’ve reached the bottom of my new blog, it can only go up from here. I will post more on why I am blogging and who it is for, but for now here is just a little bit of a look into what I hope to share to do my part in moving us (community, civilization, family – take your pick) forward.What it is is beautiful

The first bit of “advice” I want to pass on to my daughter is something that I need constant reminder and that I hope will encourage her throughout life.

It comes from an Advertisement (as odd as it sounds) for Lego that came out in 1981. The tagline is:

” What it is is beautiful.”

Insight: There are a lot of reasons why I love this ad and want to share it with my daughter. Some less relevant ones are the little redheaded girl is a projection of my daughter, my affinity Lego’s and also my love for good advertising. Beyond those reasons there are two things I want my daughter to grab and hold onto from this ad.

  1. The power behind the statement, “What it is is beautiful,” is that it doesn’t matter what was made, just so long as it was made. There was effort behind it and reason for it that may not be ‘right’ or even ‘logical’, but it is there in spite of itself. I want her to be willing, able and interested in making/creating something for herself.
  2. The second reason behind my interest in sharing this with my daughter may have a little more to do with why any parent would want to share something like this with their child: I want her to know everything has beauty, including her.

It may be foolish and sentimental, but there are some things that need teaching. This blog is going to be a collection of lessons that I have learned that she will need in here life. There is no clear path, but as I said, more will be discussed in future posts. For right now, it’s just about getting started.

What do you think?

